2014 Board Election Result

Dr. Kylie Hsu, The Chair of Election Committee informed me that we will start the new year with the announcement of our newly elected members of the Board of Directors of the Chinese Language Teachers’ Association of Southern California (CLTA-SC)!  They are Shu-Chuan Bella Chen, Lin Guo, Qiuyu Julie Li, Alice Lin, Christopher Magriney, and Zheng-sheng Zhang.

In this election, 51 (57%) of our 89 members voted, and each of the candidates received more than 50% (at least 26) “yes” votes, which met the requirement for a candidate to be elected. Details of the election results are presented in the table below.

Please join me in extending our heartfelt congratulations and a warm welcome to our brand-new directors. I am confident that with their commitment and service, CLTA-SC will continue to advance our mission of language teaching and research, and our goal of serving our members and our field.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing board members–Melissa Cheng, Shofei Chiu, Ruohmei Hsieh, Jane Kuo, Horng-Yi Lee, and Thomas Wong–for their dedication and outstanding service to CLTA-SC during their tenure, and I look forward to their continued involvement and contributions to our association.

Special thanks to Dr. Kylie Hsu, Dr. Tianwei Xie and Prof. Joanne Chen for their dedicated work to conduction the election for us this term.

Last but not least, I would like to thank our members for participating in the 2014 election. Your support is greatly appreciated, and I look forward to your participation again in all future CLTA-SC events!

Cathy Wei
President of  CLTA-SC